Argentina FlagArgentina Postal Codes (CPA)

Discover Argentina Postal Codes (CPA) across Regions and Provinces. Instantly retrieve Postal codes with interactive Postal code lookup Map.

Argentina Postal codes also known as Código Postal Argentino (CPA), play a vital role in the country's mail delivery system. These alphanumeric codes are used to identify specific geographic areas, facilitating the sorting and delivery of mail and packages to their intended destinations. Argentina's postal codes typically consist of four digits, followed by a three-letter code that represents the province or autonomous city. For example, the postal code for Buenos Aires might appear as "B1625AAA," where "B" indicates the province of Buenos Aires. With Argentina's vast territory and diverse landscapes, postal codes help streamline the distribution process, ensuring efficient mail delivery across the country.

To access a comprehensive list of postal codes in Argentina, please refer to the table below or click on any location on the Interactive map to instantly find the postal code and address for your mail's destination:

List of postal codes in Argentina

ProvinceISO CodePostal codes (Range)Count
Buenos AiresAR-B1601 to 85123187
CatamarcaAR-K4139 to 5753783
ChacoAR-H3500 to 3734448
ChubutAR-U8211 to 9431442
CordobaAR-X2189 to 85222395
CorrientesAR-W3185 to 36411210
Entre RiosAR-E1647 to 38261076
FormosaAR-P3511 to 7401370
JujuyAR-Y4411 to 4655472
La PampaAR-L3203 to 8336712
La RiojaAR-F5263 to 5741370
MendozaAR-M5435 to 6279566
MisionesAR-N3300 to 3601391
NeuquenAR-Q3353 to 8407464
Rio NegroAR-R8134 to 9138454
SaltaAR-A3636 to 4651930
San JuanAR-J5400 to 5546396
San LuisAR-D4703 to 67211250
Santa CruzAR-Z8401 to 9407263
Santa FeAR-S2000 to 8148990
Santiago Del EsteroAR-G2340 to 57141947
Tierra Del FuegoAR-V9409 to 942148
TucumanAR-T4000 to 51571096

Interactive Map of Argentina Postal codes

Interactive Postal code lookup Map: Simply click on any location on the map to instantly reveal its Postal code and address details. For a more immersive experience, engage Fullscreen mode to maximize your exploration capabilities and enable smooth navigation with scroll gestures.

Format of Argentine Postal Codes

The Argentine Postal Code (Código Postal Argentino, CPA) plays a crucial role in the efficient distribution of mail throughout Argentina. Comprising eight alphanumeric characters, it is structured into three distinct parts:

  • Province Reference: The first character of the CPA is a single letter denoting the province or autonomous city. For example, "C" signifies Capital Federal (Autonomous City of Buenos Aires), while "Q" represents Neuquén Province.
  • Town or City Identification: Following the province reference, the CPA includes four digits pinpointing the specific town or city within the province or autonomous city.
  • Block Location: The final three letters of the CPA identify the side of the city block where the address is situated.

The first letter in the CPA, representing the province or autonomous city, originates from the former Argentine license plate system, with each province typically assigned a letter corresponding to its initial letter.

The four-digit segment of the CPA corresponds to various regions within Argentina. For instance, provinces are often grouped as follows:

  • 1XXX = Buenos Aires City, Buenos Aires Province North
  • 2XXX = Santa Fe Province
  • 3XXX = Santa Fe, Entre Ríos, Chaco, Corrientes, Formosa, Misiones Provinces
  • 4XXX = Jujuy, Salta, Tucumán, Catamarca, Santiago del Estero Provinces
  • 5XXX = Córdoba, La Rioja, San Juan, San Luis, Mendoza Provinces
  • 6XXX = Buenos Aires Province West, La Pampa Province
  • 7XXX = Buenos Aires Province East, Center, and South
  • 8XXX = Buenos Aires Province South, Río Negro, Neuquén Provinces
  • 9XXX = Chubut Province, Río Negro, Santa Cruz Provinces, Tierra Del Fuego

History of Argentine Postal Codes

Argentina implemented its initial four-digit postal code system in 1958 to streamline mail distribution. Until 1998, each municipality was assigned a unique four-digit postal code, with the first digit indicating a region within the country. These codes laid the foundation for the subsequent CPA system.

Implementation of the CPA System

The official launch of the CPA system in 1998 marked a significant advancement in the accuracy and efficiency of mail delivery in Argentina. Each of Argentina's 23 provinces and the autonomous city of Buenos Aires has its own set of postal codes to comprehensively cover its territory. While the use of CPA is not mandatory for private individuals, companies conducting mass mailings enjoy discounts when utilizing CPA. However, widespread adoption of CPA among private individuals remains limited. Even government agencies and private businesses often list only the base code (the old system).

Helpful Resources: